Underthecurrent


October 7, 2009, 3:54 am
Filed under: nomadisms

This cafe is crowded for a 9 pm Tuesday situation. I’m supposed to be doing work. Instead I’m acquiring a John Lennon doc and answering correspondence.

I go through this mental thing every day lately where I remind myself I took the job I did to get rid of the nagging feeling of not doing enough work. Lifestyle choices. Avoiding the perpetual anxiety that plagues us that something is always undone and someone will be unhappy when something is not done. Allowing a little humanity.

Doing the work it’s apparent this commitment could be scaled back. I could do this half time and still be very comfortable. The kind of work I do could be done from remote locations; it’s sufficiently specialized and in demand.

Over the weekend we talk living abroad. Alone or with someone, I want to spend time out of the country, not on the pretense of doing any project but just living somewhere else and experiencing alternatives before I have kids/a mortgage/furniture (not the proper order of acquisition, I’m sure). Destination requirement: a left.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

