Underthecurrent


awake on my airplane
October 27, 2009, 3:05 am
Filed under: voyageur

[agitation concluded]

Tomorrow morning I am getting the drivers license process started. We had a comparative licensing discussion over beer this summer and it appears my country is one of the easiest, least expensive and most transferrable. Unfortunately it will be end of July before it goes full.

I’m back to hypothetical travel plans in my head.

On the way out of this place I’d like to go Van -> Oregon -> Cali -> Baja. There’s a significant amount of Amtrak potential. Then comes a potential strike through Aus/NZ/Indo. On the way back, more Africa and a brief check of the UK, variable countries. A three year project, two being mobile, one working here earning.

Ideally, like this: one year from now, having some kind of Australia plan sorted (i.e. funding or employment options), quitting and heading down the West Coast on the way to a flight. Making it to Australia by February, 2011. One year there, potential side trips to NZ and eventually a season in Indo. Stop in SA in 2012 and cover both Namibia and Mozam, about a six to nine month window. Two weeks in the UK or France, seaside. Either go home or go where most felt like home along the way.

The problem is I could easily spend three years in Africa alone instead. My mind wanders back all the time, when I was there it didn’t work in the inverse. A friend from New York signs up for grad school in Cape Town because he can’t get it out of his system. L.G. and I talk about the endless weekends at the summer house, sitting by the fire while listening to the ocean. Things are just different somehow and the love affair isn’t over yet.

Sidenote: I’m checking Byki as a language learning tool and it’s surprisingly decent… passable Spanish phrases, here I come.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

