Underthecurrent


You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet
February 14, 2010, 1:38 am
Filed under: nomadisms, runaway

Yesterday was a satisfying trip a few hundred kms down the road. The weather was cooperative and an afternoon wandering around unfolded. The city itself is somewhere I’ve lived but yesterday my schedule permitted additional exploration. A rusting diner breakfast place only open during my office hours; a used bookstore. I stayed in the strangest place overnight and felt like I might be the only legitimate guest despite the thumps in the floor above my room.

Yesterday there was a feeling I haven’t had for a long time, a small prickly sense of adventure. Everyone I came across seemed ready to engage, small interesting conversations with at least ten strangers in twenty four hours. Things felt new, in an unhassled clarified way.

As a sidenote, I was mistaken repeatedly for a student throughout my sojourn, including a woman at a counter who demanded to see my student card so she could give me a discount (which I didn’t request, or allow her to give me). The guy sitting beside me on the bus, who had the strangest story which to tell would identify, insisted we have a protracted conversation for two hours and was absolutely confused that I was not only finished my first university degree but had done a second. I am hoping this means I am winning the good fight against my wrinkle and my new job is not giving me (more) grey hair, but this may be entirely imagination. Ah, vanity.

Tonight I’m homesick for my non-home. Life is crazy.

Three years ago I had a ridiculously complex romantic life. I was heading to a Fairmont for a snowboarding trip with a guy I, knew I was going to break it off with, developing something strange over coffee in the library with another, quietly intermittently making out with two more from my college, and conclusively ending a one year series of really fun bad decisions I had made with someone who sort of matched my level of corrupted emotional intensity.

I was working on applications to go places and do things with no idea if any of it would work out. I didn’t actually know, and have not met since, anyone who has done what I did. At various points I was pretty sure it was going to be a substantial fail.

If you had told me that I would go on this little adventure, do far less studying and far more wandering, fall in love with a specific place, then fall in love with a boy who grew up an hour away from that place, and wind up often terribly homesick for a place not home… well, given the instability in my life I would have considered it and possibly believed you.

In honor of Valentines Day I’m going to do a second entry about how, exactly, I met my boyfriend. We have pieced this together in a very interesting way over the eight or so months we’ve known each other and I think the final product may just be ready.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

