Underthecurrent


quit your day job.
April 12, 2010, 3:09 am
Filed under: nomadisms, runaway, voyageur

Making lentil curry. Drycleaning at home (no rinse wool wash – lifesaver). Thinking about finishing the book I’m reading. Thinking about work. I can either finish the book I’m reading tonight, and hit the office early tomorrow, or do a few hours of work.

Notes on the curry. Brown lentils, soaked 24 hours, entire onion roughly chopped, lots of curry, lots of tomato paste. Onions to be cooked to translucent in butter, then curry, then lentils, then tomato paste. Sufficient water to blend. Simmer, maybe an hour, covered. Serve with whatever flat soft bread is available, under the broiler for 30 seconds. Eat with hands. I picked butter because I had some I wanted to use up, it turned out really well.

Curry making was explained to me by an older dude in a far flung spice market a few years ago. It’s like this. Start with oil, onions, and spices. No water. Keep the water away. Then add meat, cook the spices into the meat, and finally get to the vegetables. Making curry is a funny thing because it’s not really exotic but it’s typically the hostel cooking discovery people (read: college undergrads in North America) bring back after the round the world trip. It’s also something you can afford to eat that’s not noodles while saving up for the next trip/reestablishing a life. Which shows your roommates how worldly you are.

Travel plans. I’m sort of destination ambivalent right now. There’s going to be a stop in NYC with my parents before I one-way out. Talk of a Namibian roadtrip has been thrown out, time and budget permitting. Even though we’re planning on moving to Austrailia if visas work, I don’t really know how I feel about it.

It feels a lot like before I left on exchange. I literally had no idea what it would be like. I had actually resigned myself, due to potential danger, to never going out at night (little did I know we’d be out six nights a week). I didn’t pack completely appropriately for the range of temperatures, especially at night in unheated buildings. I didn’t know what transit would be available and, really, if I was even admitted to the program I was showing up to take.

Exactly three years later, it’s sort of the same feeling. I don’t know if I’m going to like it there, how the culture will be, if we’ll make friends and find a community, what kind of work and housing options we’ll find. I don’t really have a plan, just some visa options sketched out and a couple of plane tickets. Like last time, I’m giving up a comfortable life [swap dream apartment and new boyfriend then for high powered high income job now] and wondering, just a little bit, if there will be any regrets. I mean, I still miss the apartment a bit.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

