Underthecurrent


Back on the Feed
March 11, 2011, 1:39 pm
Filed under: popconsumption

I am curled up in my current favorite sweater, drinking some coffee, watching midday news about the Japan earthquake and resulting tsunami warnings. Perspective inducing. Woke up with a headache, I think from trying to squint my eyes shut, going to bed way too late. Curled up on a stool and began my now daily perusal of international news sources after a six month hiatus. That’s right, I have now been back for six months.

My preferred sampling includes, always first, The Globe and Mail. Then, likely the Mail & Guardian and New York Times. Sometimes a spin by the CBC, rarely a review of the BBC. Certain industry blogs from the Wall Street Journal. Skim and select. I fully recognize that two of my top three specifically canvas the interests and concerns of the educated left. Maybe it would enlighten me more to read papers that didn’t pander to my demographic. Or maybe it would just make me crankier. The volume of world news, and level of digital access to it, is incredible but makes it difficult to draw the line of relevance and to avoid compulsive consumption…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

