Underthecurrent


Unceremonious
April 14, 2011, 10:25 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday I attended my first college graduation ever.

Up in the bleachers, with the mamas and his mama, I watched as LG was officially awarded his Masters.

Despite making multiple turns through the gates of higher education, I didn’t go to any convocations of my own. To be fair, I did have two ceremonies relating to my actual profession that were more intimate and specific, thus negating the deep need to mark transition by sitting on a stage with hundreds of other people and wearing the flat hat. Or maybe it’s that I generally don’t have a lot of fond memories of my high school convocation – although still friends with my date and grand march partner, the whole thing was an overwrought drag that I only attended to make my parents and grandparents happy.

Yesterday, though, there was something nice watching people walk across a stage to collect bachelor’s degrees. The Masters and Doctorates glowed less, being far too aware of the realities of the world beyond college maybe, but the young kids bounced across the stage and beamed at parents. It was, you know, nice.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

