Underthecurrent


If You Don’t Go Now then You Might Not Never + Local News
July 12, 2011, 9:47 am
Filed under: nomadisms

The only bridge connecting us to civilization washed out last week. By the time we arrived it was crumpled and tipped over and otherwise gone. It was a final event after two weeks of pouring sheeting coastal rain that left everything cold and wet. By night residents of the town gathered to watch the gap separating them from the world being filled in buy bulldozers and stopgap dirt measures.

We now have long term seasonal neighbours, a family. I kept my initial distance because I got a weird vibe from El Capitain. Yesterday he confirmed this by strolling across the lawn wearing suspenders and no shirt, gently strumming what appeared to be a ukulele.

This weekend I caught a cold and ate an entire butternut feta pie. LG’s dog, something called a ridgeback, attempted to attack an entire herd of cows at once. I roasted a chicken and used the leftovers to make chicken salad with curry and honey and mayo. It is possible I would eat anything with curry, honey, and mayo.

I’m waiting on a work visa in order to hit Australia for Spring, September to December. Paperwork for the next steps take forever, and it will be useful to (hopefully) make instead of spend money for awhile. It has also been almost a year without new horizons, excluding a very brief New York and Namibia, and it is possible the next few years might involve clipped wings. I never feel like I’m going until I have the visa in my hands.

Australia was never high on my list of places to see but it had a couple of obvious advantages. The economy there seems momentarily more stable than the other options, and the visa is cheap and relatively painless. Northern hemisphere winter would be arriving and hauling cold weather clothing sucks. Big cities by the sea. In a perfect world, LG would have paperwork to come with and everything in order, but in a less perfect world I will come home for Christmas, hopefully with presents.

I’m landing in Perth with no other plans. Let the research begin.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

