Underthecurrent


Everything, Everywhere
October 12, 2011, 8:00 am
Filed under: voyageur | Tags: ,

Today, struck by the desire over coffee and a leftover weekend travel section, to move more.

I go back and forth on what to do before leaving this country. So far, although the experience has been good, the tourist attractions have been, well, underwhelming. I find myself wondering if $600 in transit costs to get across this landmass would not be better spent getting to an entirely different country at the end of this.

The thing is, Australia is expensive. And big.

Although the uniqueness of the Aussie culture is, so far, inarguable, I’m not sure that twenty hours away things will be dramatically different from my life here, now. And the difference is that my life here, now, is netting me about $500 per week in savings versus the opposite. It is one of the few places in the world where flipping through guidebooks and maps doesn’t send me into a frenetic list-making researching cost-calculating zone.

Maybe I just need a little inspiration.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

