Underthecurrent


Sicko
July 24, 2012, 8:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Flu. Cold house. Stack of halfhearted reading material. Aimless internet.

Eat, Pray, Love last night. I didn’t like the book but the movie is pretty travel shots, pretty men, and Julia Roberts being charming. I zoned out at the earnest parts. It made me feel a little excited for Bali in five weeks. It made me think about summer in France and Italian food and finally seeing my Greek ex roommate again, too.  A hazy bucket list of things to see and do.

They don’t always go as planned. I thought I loved thai food, and maybe I do, but it did not love me generally. I didn’t expect to go shopping but a heatwave found me in the Bangkok CBD seeking aircon and a genuine love affair with Thai malls began.

At the end of the trip, weary of any more lemongrass on a Sunday, I wandered into the Hard Rock Cafe Bangkok. This is contrary to all pretentious travel rules about authenticity etc. Except there was an awesome Thai band playing and it was packed unlike the rest of the places I checked. It was, dare I say, memorable.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

